# MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE REGION F WATER PLANNING GROUP 10:30 A.M., THURSDAY, JULY 21, 2011 AT THE UCRA WATER EDUCATION CENTER, 417 S. OAKES, SAN ANGELO, TEXAS

The Region F Water Planning Group (WPG) met at 10:30 a.m. on Thursday, July 21, 2011 at the UCRA Water Education Center, San Angelo, Texas. Voting members present were: Wendell Moody, Will Wilde, Len Wilson, Richard Gist, Charles Hagood, Tim Warren, Scott Holland, Kenneth Dierschke, Merle Taylor, Stephen Brown, John Grant, Robert Moore, John Shepard and Paul Weatherby. Terry Scott, Larry Turnbough, Caroline Runge, Woody Anderson and Ben Shepperd were absent. Notices were received from Terry Scott, Larry Turnbough, and Caroline Runge that they would not be able to attend the meeting. Non-Voting members present were: Angela Kennedy, Winton Milliff, Rick Harston, Sue Young, Michael McCulloch and Jon Cartwright. Other interested parties present were Chuck Brown, UCRA; Janet Groth, Middle Pecos Groundwater CD; Stuart Purvis, City of Midland; Jon Cartwright, Plateau UWC&SD; Jerry Bearden, Mason County, Roy Blair, Coke County, Allan Lange, Lipan-Kickapoo WCD; Simone Kiel, Freese & Nichols; Harvey Everheart, Region O; Jon Albright, Freese & Nichols; Jeff Williams, Williams Ranches; Gil Van Deventer and Ann Pierce, City of San Angelo.

### Call to Order

Chair, John Grant called the meeting to order at 10:35 a.m. A quorum was present.

# **Introductions and Opening Remarks**

Voting and non-voting members and audience attendees introduced themselves.

Consider Approval of Minutes for the Region F Water Planning Group Meeting, March 15, 2011

Motion was made by Kenneth Dierschke and seconded by Len Wilson that the minutes of the March 15, 2011 Region F WPG meeting be approved. The motion passed unanimously.

### **Financial Report**

No financial report was presented since this was the beginning of the next round of regional water planning and contracts with the State have not been executed.

### Consider Planning Group Voting Membership

Several voting member positions expired in September 2010 and nominations for those positions, as well as some unfilled vacancies, were discussed. Actions taken to fill the positions were:

<u>Public</u> - Motion was made by Stephen Brown and seconded by Kenneth Dierschke to reappoint Len Wilson (term will expire September 1, 2015). Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Municipality</u> – Motion was made by Len Wilson and seconded by Paul Weatherby to reappoint Merle Taylor (term will expire September 1, 2015). Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Environmental</u> – Motion was made by Merle Taylor and seconded by Wendell Moody to appoint Gilbert Van Deventer to the Board (term will expire September 1, 2015). Motion passed unanimously.

<u>River Authorities</u> – Motion was made by Scott Holland and seconded by Charles Hagood to reappoint Stephen Brown (term will expire September 1, 2015). Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Water Districts</u> – Motion was made by Stephen Brown and seconded by Wendell Moody to reappoint Paul Weatherby and Scott Holland (terms will expire September 1, 2015). Motion passed unanimously.

<u>Counties</u> – Nominations had been received from Jerry Bearden, Mason County, Danny Neal, McCulloch County and Mike Brown, Tom Green County. Motion was made by Wendell Moody and seconded by Richard Gist to appoint Jerry Bearden (term will expire September 1, 2015). Motion carried unanimously.

Agriculture - No nominations received. Position will be considered at the next meeting.

### **Consider Designated Alternates**

Voting members may appoint a designated alternate to represent them. If a member doesn't have one, it was encouraged to nominate one. For those voting members who were reappointed, they may continue to use the alternate that is already in place.

### **Consider Planning Group Executive Committee**

The Executive Committee consists of the Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary, plus two at large members. The two current at large executive committee members are Stephen Brown and Richard Gist. A motion was made by Charles Hagood and seconded by Merle Taylor to reappoint the executive committee. Motion passed unanimously.

# Consider the City of San Angelo as the Designated Political Subdivision for Region F

San Angelo volunteered to serve as the interim Designated Political Subdivision at the last meeting so the planning grant applications could be submitted. San Angelo has agreed to continue to serve as the Designated Political Subdivision for the next round of planning. A

motion was made by Merle Taylor and seconded by Stephen Brown to make San Angelo the Designated Political Subdivision for Region F. Motion passed unanimously.

### **Consider the Selection of the Planning Consultant**

John Grant stated that proposals had been solicited for a consultant for the fourth round of regional water planning. One response was received, that being Freese and Nichols. Motion was made to accept the proposal from Freese and Nichols and authorize the designated political subdivision to execute a contract with the firm was made by John Shepard and seconded by Tim Warren. Motion passed unanimously.

#### Texas Water Development Board Update

Angela Kennedy reported that there is currently about \$3.6 million available to all 16 regions for the next round of planning. Region F will receive \$206,234 from the initial allocation. An additional \$6.2 million will become available after September 1 for regional planning. Ms. Kennedy also reported that a bill passed in the last legislative session that will require regions include a representative from Groundwater Management Areas as a voting member on the Board.

#### Public Meeting to Solicit Comments on the Region F Scope of Work

Simone Kiel with Freese and Nichols presented an overview of the regional water planning process and that the state is now entering the fourth round of regional planning.

There will be two phases in this next round of planning. Phase I of the plan will be done with current funding authority and Phase II will address the issues identified in the first phase.

Phase I work will consist of:

- Updating population estimates
- Updating water demands
- Reviewing available water supplies
- Determine water supply needs

Phase II will address:

- Strategies to meet water supply needs
- Develop cost estimates for implementing strategies
- Identify funding opportunities
- Update region description
- Update unique stream and reservoir sites
- Compile legislative recommendations

John Grant opened the discussion to comments from the public. There were no oral or written comments presented on the proposed scope for the regional plan. The public meeting on the scope of work was closed.

Board members discussed issues that need to be considered during the development of the regional plan; coordination with Region K (LCRA) on subordination in Region F, in-stream flow requirements, water availability such as reservoir yields. A motion was made by Len Wilson and seconded by Merle Taylor that the designated political subdivision be authorized to submit the scope to the TWDB and enter into a contract with the State for the regional water plan. The Executive Committee will review for concurrence the scope if there are any significant changes. The motion carried unanimously.

### **Public Comments and Discussion**

Paul Weatherby presented information on the history of wells and water levels in Pecos County. He stated that this information may be obtained for other areas from State sources.

### Next Meeting Date

The next meeting date will be at 10:30 a.m. on the third Thursday of the month, most likely in December or January.

### <u>Adjourn</u>

There was no further discussion and the meeting adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

Wendell Moody, Secretary

John Grant, Chairman